Recipients include University of Minnesota Professor Emeritus Peter Davies and Rep. Collin Peterson.

February 16, 2022

3 Min Read
Minnesota Pork Board

Individuals and families who have made significant contributions through pork promotion, consumer and producer education, youth mentoring and service to the pork industry were recognized by the Minnesota Pork Board at the annual award recognition reception this week at the Chankaska Creek Ranch and Winery in Kasota, Minnesota. 

This year's award recipients are:

  • Distinguished Service: Peter Davies

  • Environmental Steward: Larry Liepold

  • Family of the Year: Spronk Family

  • Pork Promoter of the Year: Chef Charlie Torgerson

  • Swine Manager of the Year: Brian Majerus

  • Legislator of Distinction: Rep. Collin Peterson

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual or group who has contributed to the long-term success of Minnesota pig farmers. Human and animal health is at the forefront of people's minds now more than ever before, making Davies' lifelong career researching both subjects all the more critical. His zeal for continuous learning and encouraging those surrounding him to do the same has guided his journey leading him to be this year's Distinguished Service award recipient.

The Environmental Steward Award recognizes an individual and/or operation demonstrating the positive contributions pig farmers make to the natural environment. This year's recipient has always strived to preserve the land, resources and environment his family has been blessed with in southwest Minnesota. A fact and science-based supporter who challenges the status quo, Liepold embraces change easily if it proves to benefit the environment and is fiscally responsible.

The Family of the Year Award honors a farm family who has contributed to the long-term success of Minnesota's pig-raising traditions. This year's award recognizes the four owners of Spronk Brothers III and their commitment to local and international communities, philanthropy and generational succession. What began as a sole-proprietorship evolved into a multi-family generational entity that formed from the desire to maintain a viable, profitable farming business for generations to come.

The Pork Promoter of the Year Award highlights an individual, couple or family who has done an outstanding job promoting pork products and the raising of pigs. Minnesota Chef Torgerson was ahead of his time in 1991 when he opened the first Charlie T's Smokehouse in Fairbanks, Alaska, serving barbecue styles that originated in the southern states of the United States. Since then, his mouthwatering, meaty masterpieces have debuted across the United States. His love for sharing his expertise with other chefs and consumers earned him this year's Pork Promoter of the Year award.

The Swine Manager of the Year Award distinguishes an employee (non-owner) who excels in the management and care of pigs. With a natural ability to manage and coach others, Majerus leads his small family-oriented team to ensure the animals they care for are comfortable and healthy, and a safe, wholesome pork product is displayed on the consumer's plate.

New to the Minnesota Pork Awards line-up is the Legislator of Distinction Award. One of Minnesota's greatest allies in battling government regulations in favor of pig farming and the freedom to operate was Rep. Collin Peterson.

Source: Minnesota Pork Board, which is solely responsible for the information provided, and wholly owns the information. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like