Unsung heroes — offensive linemen — were recognized for their strength and speed in creating opportunities for their teams to be successful.

November 24, 2020

2 Min Read
Silhouette of high school football players
Getty Images

Six Iowa high school football players took home awards recognizing their play during the final games at the 2020 Iowa High School State Football Championships last week.

Hog of the Game awards went to the outstanding offensive lineman in each of the championship games. The HOG awards are sponsored by the Iowa Pork Producers Association and awarded by the Iowa High School Sports Network.

HOG award winners were recognized for their strength and speed in creating opportunities for their teams to be successful.

"We sponsor this award to recognize the often unsung linemen who are out front and helping their team be effective," says IPPA President Mike Paustian of Walcott. "Just like Iowa's pig farmers, these players work hard to create opportunities for their team and their communities to be successful."

"The IHSSN is grateful for IPPA's sponsorship of this award. Everyone we visited with about the Hog of the Game commented that IPPA had knocked it out of the park with this type of recognition. We have been associated with the IPPA for more than 10 years, and they have been a first-class organization to work with," says Ken Krogman, IHSSN president.

This year's HOG awards go to:

Xavier Galles, of St. Mary's High School in Remsen. The Hawks won the eight-player tournament. Galles is a senior and the son of Lee and Angie Galles, Remsen.
Josh Gaffey, a junior at Iowa City Regina, which won the Class A contest. Gaffey is the son of James and Sally Gaffey of Iowa City.
Gabe Kuehler, a senior at Van Meter High School. Van Meter was the runner-up in the Class 1A title game.
Sawyer Krueger, a senior at Waukon High School, the winner of the Class 2A tournament.
Carson McCaughey, a senior at North Scott High School in Eldridge. North Scott won the Class 3A Championship.
Logan Curtis, a senior at Ankeny High School, the Class 4A tournament winner.

Source: Iowa Pork Producers Association, which is solely responsible for the information provided, and wholly owns the information. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like