Sponsored By

Nine vie for Iowa Pork Producers Association Youth Leadership Team

Candidates will be judged on knowledge about pork and pig production in a speech, personal interview, media interview, experience and a written test.

December 22, 2021

1 Min Read
Reagan Gibson, a member of this year’s Iowa Pork Youth Leadership Team, educates RAGBRAI riders in July about pork and pig production.Iowa Pork Producers Association

Nine young women and men are competing for three positions on the 2022 Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) Youth Leadership Team. The competition will be held Jan. 25 and 26 in Des Moines and winners will be named at an evening banquet Jan. 26.

The Youth Leadership Team is designed for those who are passionate about the pork industry. Contestants must be seniors in high school or college students up to age 21 as of Jan. 1. Candidates will be judged on their knowledge about pork and pig production as shown in a speech presentation, personal interview, media interview, experience and a written test about the topics.

The female contestant with the highest score will be crowned Iowa Pork Queen, and receives a $4,000 scholarship, plaque, crown and sash. Two other applicants will become Iowa Pork Ambassadors; they each receive a $4,000 scholarship and plaque. All three will assist with state pork promotional and educational activities throughout 2022.


Listed alphabetically by county, contestants and their hometowns are:

Buchanan — Kirby Cook, Winthrop
Clinton — Brooklyn Kucera, Bryant
Delaware — Gracee Brooks, Manchester
Emmet — Hallie Ayers, Estherville
Emmet — Lynzie Burton, Estherville
Harrison —Zoe Reffitt, Dunlap
Plymouth — Kiley Allan, Le Mars
Story — Jackson Sterle, Roland
Warren — Maggie Staudacher, Indianola

Current members of the Youth Leadership Team are Leah Marek, Riverside; Paige Dagel, Sanborn; and Reagan Gibson, Panora.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like