Merck awards scholarships to more than 50 veterinary students

Recipients were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, leadership and area of interest within the profession.

March 11, 2019

3 Min Read

Merck Animal Health, in partnership with the American Veterinary Medical Foundation, awards 54 veterinary students from around the world scholarships through the Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Program. The selected second- and third-year students pursuing careers in companion animal or large animal medicine will each receive a $5,000 scholarship to support their educational endeavors.

“Keeping our pets healthy and maintaining a safe, high-quality protein supply for years to come will require the ongoing expertise of veterinarians and these exceptional students will be instrumental for such important jobs,” says Scott Bormann, senior vice president, North America, Merck Animal Health. “Merck Animal Health is proud to help lay a solid educational foundation for these students to excel in their future careers.”

The AVMF, the charitable arm of the American Veterinary Medical Association, has supported veterinary students for more than five decades.

"The AVMF is proud to partner with Merck Animal Health, whose generous support of veterinary student scholarships aids recipients in the pursuit of educational and professional opportunities,” says Karen Davis, chair, AVMF Board of Advisers. “Congratulations to these outstanding students and thank you to Merck Animal Health for its continued commitment and involvement in veterinary medical education.”

Award recipients from U.S. and international veterinary schools accredited through the AVMA were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, leadership and area of interest within the profession. The 2019 scholarship recipients are:

  • Imrul Kayes Anwar, Bangladesh Agricultural University

  • Michael Barua, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University

  • Andrea Basque, University of Pennsylvania

  • Kalie Beckers, Louisiana State University

  • Robert Buntz, Colorado State University

  • Emily Calbaum, University of Wisconsin

  • Brittany Campbell, Purdue University

  • Virginia Carrero, Louisiana State University

  • Michael Congiusta, University of Minnesota

  • Lindsay Courtney, The Ohio State University

  • Stephanie Crawford, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine

  • Brenna Daly, Tufts University

  • Anik Das, Bangladesh Agricultural University

  • Erin Deavours, University of Georgia

  • Thomas Duff, University of Minnesota

  • Peter Ellis, University of California-Davis

  • Grace Ertle, Michigan State University

  • Abdullah Al Fahad, Bangladesh Agricultural University

  • Lindsay Francis, Colorado State University

  • Sarah Freeman, University of California-Davis

  • Anna Gates, Michigan State University

  • Taylor Goucher, University of Pennsylvania

  • Emily Griswold, University of Pennsylvania

  • Geraldine Gutierrez, University of Minnesota

  • John Hanlon, Washington State University

  • Kelsey Hart, St. George’s University

  • Ifteqar Hassan, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University

  • Alexandra Hess, Colorado State University

  • Mohimanul Islam, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University

  • Manohar Katara, St. George’s University

  • Chantelle Khambholja, Washington State University

  • Shahriar Khandakar, Bangladesh Agricultural University

  • Jeffrey Kim, The Ohio State University

  • Laura Krogman, Washington State University

  • Judy Anne Manaog, University of the Philippines Los Banos

  • Mikaella Andrea Manongdo, University of the Philippines Los Banos

  • Heath McAlexander, University of Tennessee

  • Ferdous Hasan Mithun, Bangladesh Agricultural University

  • Christopher Moyer, Lincoln Memorial University

  • Pallab Deb Nath, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University

  • Michael Paras, University of the Philippines Los Banos

  • Arif Rabbani, Bangladesh Agricultural University

  • Caitlyn Rize, University of Minnesota

  • Shira Rosenblum, University of Pennsylvania

  • John Rowe, The Ohio State University

  • Janae Saffold, Midwestern University

  • Michelle Sahr, The Ohio State University

  • Arnel Jr. Simangan, University of the Philippines Los Banos

  • Rachel Stika, Iowa State University

  • Melissa Trayah, Tufts University

  • Jonathan Tubbs, Auburn University

  • Kristen Verdoorn, University of Wisconsin

  • Elvina Yau, Cornell University

  • Mariah Young, Washington State University

Source: Merck Animal Health, which is solely responsible for the information provided, and wholly owns the information. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like