Sponsored By

AASV Announces Veterinary Student Poster AwardeesAASV Announces Veterinary Student Poster Awardees

March 23, 2012

1 Min Read
AASV Announces Veterinary Student Poster Awardees


The American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) announces awards for 15 veterinary students who competed in the Veterinary Student Poster Competition at the association’s 43rd Annual Meeting in Denver, CO.  Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. sponsored the competition, offering awards totaling $4000.

Based on scores received in the original judging of abstracts submitted for the AASV Student Seminar, the top 15 abstracts not selected for oral presentation at the Annual Meeting are eligible to compete in the poster competition.

Boehringer Ingelheim announced the following awards during the AASV Luncheon on March 12h:

·        $500 Award – Shamus Brown, Iowa State University – Top student poster entitled “Detection of PRRSV and SIV in oral fluids from pigs one week postweaning.”


·        $400 awards:

o   Daren Miller, Purdue University

o   Jonathan Van Blarcom, University of Pennsylvania


·        $300 awards:

o   Deanne Day, Iowa State University

o   Amelia Naher, Washington State University

o   Drew White, Iowa State University


·        $200 awards:

o   Jordan Graham, Iowa State University

o   Jared Jacobson, Iowa State University

o   Kurt Kuecker, Iowa State University

o   Jeffrey Ling, Massey University

o   Brent Pepin, Iowa State University

o   Abigail Redalen, University of Minnesota

o   Megan Schnur, Purdue University

o   Michael Slattery, Iowa State University

o   Lisa Thomson, North Carolina State University

In addition to the poster competition awards, each student poster participant received a $250 travel stipend from Pfizer Animal Health.


Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like