USDA appoints Meat & Poultry Inspection Advisory Committee

December 29, 2014

1 Min Read
USDA appoints Meat & Poultry Inspection Advisory Committee
Getty Images/Mark Wilson

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced the appointment of members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI) for the 2014-16 term. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack said, “the diverse perspectives on food safety that the advisory members bring are invaluable to our success in ensuring the safety of the foods we eat.”

New members of the committee are: Dr. Michael Crupain, Consumer Product Safety and Sustainability; George Wilson, Wilson & Associates LLC; Dr. Tanya Roberts, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention; Kurt Brandt, United Food and Commercial Workers International Union; Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, South Dakota Animal Industry Board; Dr. Krzysztof Mazurczak, Illinois Department of Agriculture; Michael Frances Link Jr., Ohio Department of Agriculture; Dr. Manpreet Singh, Purdue University; Dr. Randall K. Phebus, Kansas State University; Dr. Patricia Curtis, Auburn University; Brian Sapp, White Oak Pastures Inc.; Sherri Jenkins, JBS USA LLC; Dr. Betsy Booren, American Meat Institute; Dr. Alice Johnson, Butterball LLC.

Returning members are: Sherika Harvey, Mississippi Department of Agriculture; Dr. Carol L. Lorenzen, University of Missouri; Dr. Michael L. Rybolt, Hillshire Brands Co.; Dr. John A. Marcy, University of Arkansas; and Christopher A. Waldrop, Consumer Federation of America. The NACMPI committee was established in 1971 to advise the USDA on matters affecting federal and state inspection program activities. 

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like