USDA appoints 158 to National Pork Producers Delegate Body

Representation is based on annual net assessments collected on sales of domestic hogs within individual states.

February 12, 2024

4 Min Read
National Pork Board

The USDA has announced the appointment of 158 delegates, including 153 producers and five importers, to the 2024 National Pork Producers Delegate Body.

Members appointed to serve one-year terms are:

  • Alabama: Daniel Tubbs, Oakman; and Sammie Lee Stone, Bessemer.

  • Alaska: Patricia Worrell, Wasilla; and Richard Worrell, Wasilla.

  • Arizona: Bruce Lawler, Lakeside; and Brad Tate, Taylor.

  • Arkansas: Pat Pollack, Russellville; and Richard Gray, Dardanelle.

  • California: Morgan Wonderly, Arroyo Grande; and Shelby N. Sopocy, Sacramento.

  • Colorado: Jeff M. Ovalle, Yuma;, and Andrea Anderson, Wray.

  • Connecticut: Hazel Secchiaroli, Waterford; and Jonathan Secchiaroli, Waterford.

  • Delaware: John Tigner, Hartly; and Henry C. Johnson IV, Selbyville.

  • Florida: Tommy Crawford, Lake Butler; and Kyle Mendes, Lake Butler.

  • Georgia: Dania DeVane, Cuthbert; and Mark Clemmer, Broxton.

  • Idaho: Brad Thornton, Kuna; and Wade Hanson, Melba.

  • Illinois: Chad Leman, Secor; Cheryl L. Walsh, Princeville; Thomas Titus, Elkhart; Josh Maschhoff, Nashville; Pamela Janssen, Minonk; and Jason Propst, Toledo.

  • Indiana: James L. Erickson, North Manchester; Tyler Fledderman, West Lafayette; Mark Legan, Coatesville; Nick Maple, Amboy; Todd Rodibaugh, Carmel; and Tanner Smith, Hillsdale.

  • Iowa: Dennis C. Liljedahl, Essex; Linda Schroeder, Remsen; Trisha Cook, Winthrop; Gregg Hora, Fort Dodge; Erin Brenneman, Wellman; Joel Van Gilst, Oskaloosa; Aaron Juergens, Carroll; David Moody, Collins; Jamie Schmidt, Garner; Timothy J. Schmidt, Hawarden; Trent Thiele, Elma; Dean Frazer, Conrad; Aaron Cook, Winthrop; Dale Gerard Reicks, New Hampton; Greg Lear, Spencer; Mark Meirick, Protivin; Tom Paustian, Walcott; Bill Tentinger, Le Mars; Kevin Rasmussen, Goldfield; Haley Kerr, Burlington; Steven Kerns, Clearfield; Tim Bierman, Larrabee; Clark Wikner, McGregor; Jen Sorenson, Ankeny; Rod Leman, Iowa City; Ben Schmaling, Prescott; Ken Ries, Ryan; Ryan Pudenz, Ames; Todd E. Wilson, LuVerne; and Leon C. Sheets, Ionia.

  • Kansas: Chad Groves, Overland Park; David Hartter, Sabetha; Scott Pfortmiller, Saint John; and Michael Springer, Neodesha.

  • Kentucky: Michael Williford, Clinton; and Annie Tolle, Shelbyville.

  • Louisiana: Brady C. Rutledge, Iowa.

  • Maine: Brittany Hemond, Minot; and Michael Hemond, Minot.

  • Maryland: Michael Stoner, Taneytown; and Thomas K. Gannon, Centreville.

  • Michigan: Andy White, Jones; Joseph Dykhuis, Holland; and Jarred Lorenz, Kalamazoo.

  • Minnesota: Bradley L. Hennen, Ghent; Amber Portner, New Ulm; Mike Boerboom, Marshall; Brian Schwartz, Sleepy Eye; Todd Selvik, Waseca; Vincent Baack, North Mankato; Chris Compart, Nicollet; Abbie Redalen, Chatfield; Myrna Welter, Stewartville; Roger Punt, Prinsburg; and John Anderson, Belgrade.

  • Mississippi: Sean Boe, Moselle; and Gerald Thompson, Bruce.

  • Missouri: Marcus Belshe, Henley; Steven Brier, Nevada; Jesse A. Heimer, Taylor; and Anthony Russo, Columbia.

  • Montana: Peter John Wipf, Carter; and Ken S. Kleinsasser, Havre.

  • Nebraska: Mark Wright, Fremont; Darin J. Uhlir, Saint Paul; Ryan Preister, Humphrey; and Terry O’Neel, Friend.

  • Nevada: Clayton Combs, Las Vegas; and Sarah Stallard, Las Vegas.

  • New Jersey: Kirk Stephens, Sussex.

  • New York: Jennifer Schwab, North Java; and James Luckman, Lewiston.

  • North Carolina: Jay Archer, Tarboro; Jennifer Daniels, Autryville; Brian J. Kennedy, Pink Hill; Christina Phillips, Wallace; Christopher Conser, Concord; Blake Floars, Goldsboro; Jared Porter, Concord; Lorenda B. Overman, Goldsboro; and Joshua Wayne Coombs, Clinton.

  • North Dakota: Nick Bundermann, Starkweather; and James Clay, Cando.

  • Ohio: Nick Seger, Sidney; Nathan Schroeder, Leipsic; John D. Heinz, Washington Court House; and Nathan Isler, Prospect.

  • Oklahoma: Joe Popplewell, Stillwater; Joe Embry Locke, Marietta; and Angie Johnson, Holdenville.

  • Oregon: Jack Hurley, Albany; and Nicki Hurley, Albany.

  • Pennsylvania: Ben Barcovtch, Berwick; Coleman Wagner, Akron; Drew Derstein, Lewistown; and Matt Walters, Schwenksville.

  • South Carolina: Mark A. McLeod, Pinewood; and Brandon Glenn, Manning.

  • South Dakota: Shane Odegaard, Lake Preston; Ryan Storm, Mount Vernon; Bob Thaler, Brookings; and Lenny Gross, Leola.

  • Tennessee: Pamela Bartholomew-Gardner, Decaturville; and Eric Gardner, Decaturville.

  • Texas: Josh Krohn, Lamesa; and Peter C. Baumert, Dalhart.

  • Utah: Jim Webb, Beaver; Kurt Falslev, Benson; and Matt Robinson, Beaver.

  • Virginia: R.O. Britt, Williamsburg; and Jessica Cunningham, Elberon.

  • Washington: Tom Cocking, Colfax; and Paul Knittel, Davenport.

  • West Virginia: Paige Allison McNeely, Shanks; and Tanner Benton McNeely, Shanks.

  • Wisconsin: Howard A.V. Roth, Wauzeka; and Ross Mencke, Arena.

  • Wyoming: Joe Bridges, Powell; and Jim Pannell, Hulett.

  • Importers: Martin Sauer, Jersey City, N.J.; Rich Maebert, South Orange, N.J.; Roland L. Schinbeckler, Warren, N.J.; Elisa Sandson, Arlington, Va.; and George Gekas, Philadelphia, Pa.

The delegate body meets annually to recommend the rate of assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive, and nominate producers and importers to the National Pork Board. Representation on the Delegate Body is based on annual net assessments collected on sales of domestic hogs within individual states, with a minimum of two producers from each state. States have the option of not submitting nominees.

The board and the delegate body were established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985. By law, USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the board and the delegate body.

AMS policy is that diversity of the boards, councils and committees it oversees should reflect the diversity of their industries in terms of the experience of members, methods of production and distribution, marketing strategies, and other distinguishing factors, including but not limited to individuals from historically underserved communities, that will bring different perspectives and ideas to the table. Throughout the full nomination process, the industry must conduct extensive outreach, paying particular attention to reaching underserved communities, and consider the diversity of the population served and the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the members to serve a diverse population.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like