New Animal Science Chair Named at Iowa State

December 12, 2014

1 Min Read
New Animal Science Chair Named at Iowa State

Iowa State University has announced the hiring of a new chairman of the animal science department.

Animal scientist Donald Beermann is a former animal science professor at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) and led the UNL animal science department from 1999 to 2007. He most recently served as interim director of the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and interim associate dean of the Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine at UNL. Beermann was inducted into the Nebraska Hall of Agricultural Achievement in 2013.

Beermann grew up on a farm near Denison and is an Iowa State alumnus, earning a bachelor’s degree in animal science in 1971. He went on to earn a master’s degree in meat and animal science and a doctorate in muscle biology and human physiology from the University of Wisconsin in 1974-76.

The new chairman begins his new duties on Jan. 5

Beermann succeeds Maynard Hogberg, who served as chair from 2003 until his retirement in early January. Hogberg announced his retirement in 2013, but continued to serve as chair until a replacement was found.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like