Sponsored By

Farm Progress America, October 30, 2023Farm Progress America, October 30, 2023

Mike Pearson tells us about the winners of the National Wheat Foundation yield contest.

October 30, 2023

Mike Pearson tells us about the winners of the 2023 National Wheat Yield Contest.

This year, there were 24 growers in 12 states covering four divisions. In addition, there were 83 state winners from 28 states.Wheat is a widely planted crop and the divisions include winter or spring wheat and dry or irrigated divisions. In addition, drought was a big concern for many farmers with 60 percent of winter wheat being impacted in the May crop progress report and 75 percent of the spring wheat being impacted in the July crop progress report. Dick Juda of Oregon with the bin buster ward for winter wheat on dry land of 173.77 bushels per acre. Derrick Berger, of Oregon, had 171.58 bushels per acre.In the spring wheat, dry land category, the Bin Buster Award went to Brad Disrud, of North Dakota and John Wesolowski of Minnesota.In the winter wheat -- irrigated category, the Bin Buster Award went to Chris Gross, of Washington with 211.98 bushels per acre and Gary Reynolds, of Idaho who reported 201.94 bushels per acre. In the irrigated spring wheat division, the Bin Buster went to Dallin Wilcox, of Idaho, with 170.14 bushels per acre yield and Jess Blatchford from Oregon with 164.5 bushels per acre. All of the winners get a paid trip to the Commodity Classic in 2024 and all of the winning wheat entries will be given a detailed quality analysis and the winner of that gets an extra $250.Farm Progress America is a daily look at key issues in agriculture. It is produced and presented by Mike Pearson, farm broadcaster and host of This Week in Agribusiness.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like