June 10, 2013

1 Min Read
Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee Named

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced the appointment of the 15 members of the 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee.  HHS and USDA say the dietary guidelines serve as the foundation for national nutrition programs, standards and education. In addition, the dietary guidelines provide key recommendations for the general population as well as specific population groups to help people choose an overall healthy diet that works for them.

The first meeting of the new committee will be held June 13-14.  Those appointed to the advisory committee are: Dr. Barbara Millen, professor, Boston University School of Medicine; Alice Lichtenstein, Tufts University; Dr. Steven Abrams, Baylor University; Dr. Lucile Adams-Campbell, Georgetown University Medical Center; Dr. Cheryl Anderson, University of California; Dr. J. Thomas Brenna, Cornell University: Dr. Wayne Campbell; Purdue University; Dr. Steven Clinton, Ohio State University School of Medicine; Dr. Gary Foster, Temple University; Dr. Frank Hu, Harvard School of Public Health; Dr. Miriam Nelson, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy; Dr. Marian Neuhouser, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center; Dr. Rafael Perez-Escamilla, Yale School of Public Health; Dr. Anna Maria Siega-Riz, University of North Carolina; and Dr. Mary Story, University of Minnesota. 

Like what you’re reading? Subscribe to the National Hog Farmer Weekly Preview newsletter and get the latest news delivered right to your inbox every week!

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like