National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

National Hog Farmer

Farm Financial Standards Council Elects New Leadership

Bloomington, IL (Aug. 21, 2009) -- Phyllis Parks, CPA, CVA, an accountant from Danville, IL, was elected to serve as the president of the Farm Financial Standards Council when the group held its annual meeting and conference here recently. She succeeds Alan Miller, a professor at Purdue University, who will now serve as immediate past-president on the organization’s Executive Committee.

Prior to assuming the top leadership position with the group, Parks had served as the group’s vice president.

Elected to new vice president status is Owen Thompson, regional credit team leader with AgStar Financial Services, ACA, based in Mankato, MN. Thompson had previously served as the organization’s treasurer. He will succeed Parks at the group’s meeting in 2010.

Elected to serve as treasurer of the Council is Kathy Rancour, CMA, accounting manager for Christiansen Land and Cattle Company in Kimball, SD. She had previously been chairman of the Council’s communications committee.

New board members elected to three year terms with the Council are: Dr. Paul Gorman, South Central College, North Mankato, MN; Everett Chambers, Kalmika Consulting, Tomah, WI; Brenda Duckworth, Johnson Miller & Co., Hobbs, NM; Michael Peachey, Miller & Miller CPAs, LLP, Lancaster, PA; and, Thomas Murphy, Thomas Murphy and Associates, Western, NE.

The Farm Financial Standards Council is a non-profit organization consisting of professionals representing producer groups, banking, the Farm Credit System, accounting, insurance companies, academics and others involved with agricultural production and finance.


Carroll E. Merry


[email protected]