National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Perdue appoints new members to National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection

NACMPI was established in 1971 by the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service.

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of five new members and 12 returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection.

“It is our goal to protect public health, prevent foodborne illness and promote confidence in the U.S. food safety inspection system, which is the most reliable and well-documented in the world,” says Perdue. “These committee members, with their breadth of experience and expertise, will help inform USDA on best practices as we continue to protect public health with the latest advances in science and technology.”

NACMPI was established in 1971 by the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service. NACMPI is a discretionary advisory committee that advises on food safety concerns and other matters affecting federal and state inspection program activities. It also contributes to USDA’s regulatory policy development.

The new NACMPI members appointed to serve two-year terms are:

• Thomas Gremillion, Consumer Federation of America
• James Jenkins, Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry
• Amilton De Mello, University of Nevada
• Tina Rendon, Pilgrim’s Pride Corp.
• Kimberly Rice, U.S. Foods

Reappointed NACMPI members are:

• Manpreet Singh, University of Georgia
• Randall K. Phebus, Kansas State University
• Patricia Curtis, Auburn University
• Brian Sapp, White Oak Pastures
• Sherri Jenkins, JBS USA
• Betsy Booren, Olsson Frank Weeda Terman Matz, PC
• Alice Johnson, Butterball
• Michael Crupain, Dr. Oz Show
• Tanya Roberts, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention
• Kurt Brandt, United Food and Commercial Workers Union
• Dustin Oedekoven, State of South Dakota
• Kryzsztof Mazurczak, State of Illinois

Click here for further information on NACMPI.

Source: USDA

TAGS: Regulatory
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.