National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

AASV Foundation announces student seminar awards, scholarships

AASV/Sherrie Webb Student Seminar $5000 top award Jack Korenyi-Both.jpg
Korenyi-Both, The Ohio State University, received top student award for his presentation on water-based foam depopulation in swine.

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation awarded scholarships totaling $25,000 to 15 veterinary students.

Jack Korenyi-Both, The Ohio State University, received the $5000 scholarship for top student presentation. His presentation was titled "Water-based foam depopulation in swine: Evaluating brain activity, animal behavior, and logistical aspects." The Zoetis Foundation provided the financial support for the Top Student Presenter Award.

Additional scholarships totaling $20,000 were funded by Elanco Animal Health.

AASV/Sherrie WebbStudent Seminar $2500 group.jpg

Four veterinary student presenters received $2500 scholarships: Carly Bates, Iowa State University; Hope Dohlman, Iowa State University; Taylor Jansen, Purdue University; and Rachel Kanefsky, Tufts University.

AASV/Sherrie WebbStudent Seminar $1500 group.jpg

Five veterinary student presenters received $1500 scholarships: Ellen GibbsUniversity of Missouri; Alyssa Ruston-Bray, University of Illinois; Gregory Shanks, University of Tennessee; Adam Tatnall, University of Illinois; and Amber Vegter, Iowa State University.

AASV/Sherrie WebbStudent Seminar $500 group.jpg

Those student presenters receiving $500 scholarships were: Erin Russell, Lincoln Memorial University; Kendall Sattler, Purdue University; Adam Steffensmeier, Iowa State University; Mallory Wilhelm, Iowa State University; and Dylan Wulfekuhle, Iowa State University.

Thirty-five veterinary students from 14 universities submitted abstracts for consideration by student abstract volunteer judges Abigail Redalen, Bill Minton, Dwain Guggenbiller, Jordan Gebhardt, Katie Beckman and Susan Detmer. From those submissions, 15 students were selected to present during the annual meeting. Andrew Bowman and Justin Brown chaired the student seminar which was judged by those individuals who judged the abstracts. The Zoetis Foundation provided $750 to each student selected to participate to offset the costs of presenting.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.