National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

The US Capitol building
Five members of the Senate Agriculture Committee are up for re-election.

Senate Agriculture Races to Watch

There are five members of the Senate Agriculture Committee that are up for re-election next month.  

There are five members of the Senate Agriculture Committee that are up for re-election next month.  They are:

·  Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), chairwoman of the committee, is being challenged by former Congressmen Pete Hoekstra (R-MI).  Stabenow is favored to win. 

·  Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) is being challenged by Ohio State Treasurer Josh Mandel.  Latest polls have Brown leading in a close race. 

·  Senator Bob Casey (D-PA) is being challenged by Tom Smith, who worked in coal mining.  Latest polls have Casey leading. 

·  Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) is being challenged by Kurt Bills, who is a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives.  Klobuchar is strongly favored to win re-election.

·  Senator Kristen Gillibrand (D-NY) is being challenged by attorney Wendy Long.  Gillibrand is strongly favored to win this race.

There are two members of the committee, Senators Kent Conrad (D-ND) and Ben Nelson (D-NE), who are not running for re-election.  Also, Senator Dick Lugar (R-IN), former chairman of the committee, was defeated in the Republican primary by Indiana State Treasurer Richard Mourdock, who is running against Congressman Joe Donnelly (D-IN).  The Donnelly-Mourdock race is considered a toss-up.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.