National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Merck Animal Health supports future swine practitioners

djmilic/ThinkstockPhotos Graduation cap on stack of dollar bills.
10 recipients announced during the 50th Annual AASV Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.


With a long-standing commitment to the education of the next generation of veterinarians, Merck Animal Health today, in partnership with the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation — the charitable arm of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians — announces the 2019 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships.

“Through this program, Merck Animal Health reinforces its enduring commitment to veterinary medicine and the people who will ensure the science of healthier animals now and in the years to come,” says Joseph Roder, DVM, Merck Animal Health director of Swine Technical Services. “We remain dedicated to providing veterinary students with vital real-world experiences that will equip them with the skills they need to help ensure the health and well-being of animals, as well as help feed the world.” 

“Merck Animal Health continues to demonstrate a meaningful commitment to swine veterinarians by sponsoring these scholarships,” says Tom Burkgren, DVM, AASV executive director. “This commitment elevates the mission of the AASVF by assisting veterinary students in finding and fulfilling their roles in the veterinary profession.”

The recipients, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, are:

  • Kayla Castevens, North Carolina State University
  • Grace Elijah, Kansas State University
  • Matt Finch, Iowa State University
  • Taylor Homann, University of Minnesota
  • Sophie Leone, Colorado State University
  • Jamie Madigan, North Carolina State University
  • Elizabeth Noblett, North Carolina State University
  • Shelby Perkins, University of Missouri
  • Rachel Stika, Iowa State University
  • Zach Talbert, University of Illinois

The recipients were announced earlier today at the 50th Annual AASV Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Second-and third-year students enrolled in American Veterinary Medical Association-accredited or recognized colleges of veterinary medicine in the United States, Canada, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean Islands are eligible for the scholarship. Learn more by clicking here.

Source: Merck Animal Health, which is solely responsible for the information provided, and wholly owns the information. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.