National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

USDA Designates More Disaster Areas

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today designated 39 additional counties in eight states as primary natural disaster areas due to damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat. During the 2012 crop year, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 1,297 counties across 29 states as disaster areas, making all qualified farm operators in the areas eligible for low-interest emergency loans. The additional counties designated today are in the states of Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming. The U.S. Drought Monitor currently reports that 61% of the continental United States is in a moderate to exceptional drought.

“Our hearts go out to all of those affected by this drought,”  Vilsack says. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. That’s why USDA officials are fanning out to affected areas, to let our farmers and ranchers know that we stand with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood. And that is also why it is important that Congress pass a food, farm and jobs bill that ensures a robust safety net for producers in times of need.”

Increasingly hot and dry conditions from California to Delaware have damaged or slowed the maturation of crops such as corn and soybeans, as well as pasture and range-land. Vilsack has instructed USDA subcabinet leaders to travel to affected areas to augment ongoing assistance from state-level USDA staff and provide guidance on the department’s existing disaster resources. To deliver assistance to those who need it most, the secretary last week effectively reduced the interest rate for emergency loans from 3.75% to 2.25%, while creating greater flexibility for ranchers within the Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) for emergency haying and grazing purposes. In addition, the disaster designations announced today fall under a new, streamlined process that simplifies secretarial disaster designations and will result in a 40% reduction in processing time for most counties affected by disasters.

USDA agencies have been working for weeks with state and local officials, as well as individuals, businesses, farmers and ranchers, as they begin the process of helping to get people back on their feet. USDA offers a variety of resources for states and individuals affected by the recent disasters. For additional information and updates about USDA’s efforts, please visit or USDA’s drought page.

Primary counties and corresponding states designated as disaster areas today:


Arkansas County

Cleburn County

Cleveland County

Crittenden County

Jefferson County

Lee County

Lonoke County

Monroe County

Phillips County

Prairie County

St. Francis County


Douglas County, Georgia


Bartholomew County

Brown County

Clay County

Hamilton County

Hancock County

Hendricks County

Johnson County

Marion County

Monroe County

Morgan County

Owen County

Parke County

Putnam County

Shelby County


DeSoto County

Panola County

Tate County

Tunica County

New Mexico:

Cibola County


Shelby County

Tipton County


Garfield County

Kane County

Wasatch County

Wayne County


Fremont County

Sublette County




Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.