Ten students receive pork industry scholarships

Winners awarded $2,500 for their pursuit of careers in the pig industry.

March 5, 2021

1 Min Read
Pigs on Leon Sheets Farm.JPG

The National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) has awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry. The Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship program is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation and managed and administered by NPPC. The award was announced at NPPC’s annual National Pork Industry Forum.

The 2021 winners of the $2,500 scholarships – named after the late NPPC vice president from Mt. Olive, N.C. – are:

  • Don Banks, North Carolina State University

  • Claire Christensen, Iowa State University

  • Grace Christensen, Iowa State University

  • Carla Edleman, Iowa State University

  • Aly Francis, Oklahoma State University

  • Seth Mitchell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • Abigail Ross, Iowa State University

  • Leah Ruen, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

  • Heather Snow, University of Missouri

  • Isaac Wiley, Iowa State University

The scholarship program was introduced in 1990 by CME Group and NPPC to celebrate the 25th anniversary of CME hog futures. The scholarship was renamed in 2006 to honor the passing of NPPC board member Lois Britt, a lifetime supporter of agriculture.

To be eligible for a scholarship, students must be undergraduates in a two-year swine program or a four-year college of agriculture.

“These bright young men and women represent the next generation of U.S. pork producers,” said NPPC president Howard “AV” Roth, a hog farmer from Wauzeka, Wisc. “We need to encourage, educate and nurture future leaders in our industry, and NPPC and CME Group are pleased to award these students with well-deserved scholarships.”

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like