Individuals honored for their dedication to advancing the pig industry.

February 24, 2021

2 Min Read
hog farm buildings_Darwin Brandis_iStock_Getty Images-951798010.jpg
Darwin Brandis/iStock/Getty Images

Indiana Pork recently honored three individuals for their dedication to the pork industry. Heather Hill was the recipient of the Producer Meritorious Service Award. She is co-owner of Hill Farms in Greenfield, Ind., a 600-sow, farrow-to-finish operation, with her husband Marc and his parents. Hill Farms also grows corn, soybeans and wheat. Heather is a former president of the Indiana Pork Board and has been actively involved since 2009. She also serves on the National FFA Career Development Sales Committee and is a leader for the local 4-H chapter. Heather is an Operation Main Street speaker.

Indiana Pork awarded its Industry Meritorious Service award to Justin Schneider. With over 15 years at Indiana Farm Bureau, Justin has worked on air, water, and other environmental issues for ag and was trusted on those issues by legislators. He led the effort to transition from NPDES permitting to state permitting for CAFOs. He worked on several right-to-farm law issues, both at the Indiana Statehouse and as a resource for litigators. During his time at Indiana Farm Bureau, Justin was a policy expert that was motivated to ensure commercial agriculture thrived in Indiana. Justin grew up on a hog farm and his family still raises corn and soybeans.

Daryn Cordes of Wabash County received the Contract Grower award. Daryn has contract grown hogs for Dykhuis Farms for over 13 years. As a young man, he built two brand new facilities for DFI. He has 8,625 wean-to-finish spaces for DFI located in Roann, Ind. He is married and a father of two daughters. His entire family is involved in day-to-day animal care and activities around the farm. Daryn is also a volunteer fire fighter for the Roann Fire Department.

Indiana Pork also recognized retiring board member Marshall Martin of Purdue University. Nick Maple, a hog farmer from Amboy, was recognized as outgoing Indiana Pork president and Jeff Rodibaugh was honored as outgoing INPAC chairman. Maple will serve one more year on the board as past president and Rodibaugh joined the Indiana Pork board as a member. New members to the board include Matt Paschen, farrow-to-finish hog farmers in Cass County, and Dale Schmitz, an area buyer for Weichman Pig Company in southern Indiana.


Subscribe to Our Newsletters
National Hog Farmer is the source for hog production, management and market news

You May Also Like