USDA Picks Pork Board Members

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has announced five appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board.

Each will serve three-year terms effective July 1. New board members were chosen from among eight nominees by the National Pork Act Delegate Body during the Pork Board’s annual meeting in March.

Appointees include:

  • Wayne Peugh, Edelstein, IL, second term; owner of a 2,500-sow, farrow-to-finish operation;
  • Brian Zimmerman, Beatrice, NE, first term; owns and operates a farrow-to-finish operation and manages Zimmerman Hog Farms, a farrow-to-finish family swine corporation;
  • Deborah Johnson, Clinton, NC, second term; marketing manager for Cape Fear Farm Credit;
  • Carol Hein, Spickard, MO, first term; marketing programs coordinator for Premium Standard Farms, a 212,000-sow, farrow-to-finish operation; and
  • Lynn Harrison, Elk Mound, WI, second term; owner of a 10,000-head feeder pig finishing operation.

Each appointee will be assigned to one of three committees within the Pork Board – budget, audit or administrative.

TAGS: Business