Veterinary Officers, Awards

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) has elected Tom Gillespie, DVM, as its president for 2005-2006. He is the owner of a swine specialty practice in Rensselaer, IN. He succeeds John Waddell, DVM, Sutton, NE, who now serves as immediate past president.

Elected president-elect was Scott Dee, DVM, associate professor in the Swine Disease Eradication Center at the University of Minnesota.

Elected vice president was Daryl Olsen, DVM, who has worked at the Audubon-Manning Veterinary Clinic at Audubon, IA, for 14 years.

Three AASV members were honored during the group’s annual meeting in Toronto in early March:

  • Michael Sheridan, DVM, Steinbach, Manitoba, was named the 2005 Swine Practitioner of the Year. Sheridan is a partner and owner of Sheridan and Heuser Swine Health Services.
  • William Brown, DVM, Wamego, KS, was awarded the Howard Dunne Memorial Award for contributions and outstanding service to the association and the swine industry. Brown is the Health Services veterinarian for Monsanto Choice Genetics.
  • Larry Firkins, DVM, received the Meritorious Service Award, in recognition for time and service given to the AASV. He is an associate professor and Extension swine veterinarian at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine.

The AASV Foundation awarded scholarships to several veterinary students:

  • Jennifer Schurrer, a third-year veterinary student at the University of Minnesota, received a $5,000 scholarship for best student presentation. Her presentation, “The Influence of Environmental Temperature on PRRS Virus Retention in House Flies,” was supported by Alpharma Animal Health.
  • Four veterinary student presenters received $2,500 scholarships; five received $1,500 scholarships and five received $500. Elanco Animal Health provided financial support.
  • Fifteen student presenters received $500 travel stipends to attend the annual meeting courtesy of Alpharma Animal Health.