National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Stange, Switzer awards presented to ISU vet med alumni

Five alumni of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine were honored during Homecoming activities with the Stange and Switzer Awards at the end of October.

The Stange Award for Meritorious Service in Veterinary Medicine is the highest award presented to distinguished alumni in the college. The award is presented annually for outstanding professional achievement in the areas of education, government, industry, practice or other professional endeavors in veterinary medicine.

Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine

Pictured from left to right: Dean Dan Grooms, T. Robert Bashara, Daryl Olsen, Bill Reece, Darrell Neuberger and Gordon Magee representing Martin Smith.

The 2018 recipients of the Stange Award are:

  • T. Robert Bashara (’63), a long-time advocate for animal welfare with the Doris Day Animal Foundation and retired small animal practitioner in Omaha, Neb.
  • Daryl Olsen (’82), senior partner with AMVC Management Services in Audubon, Iowa, and past president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians
  • Martin Smith (’76) of Minocqua, Wis., and founder of Drs. Foster & Smith catalog veterinary supply business

The William P. Switzer Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society and to the college. In addition to professional achievements, these individuals also have an association with the college that has made a positive impact for teaching, research or service.

The 2018 recipients of the Switzer Award are:

  • Darrell Neuberger (’77) of Garner, Iowa, a past president of the IVMA and retired from Zoetis Technical Services
  • Bill Reece (’54) of Ames, Iowa, retired University Professor in the College of Veterinary Medicine and long-time editor of Dukes’ Physiology of Domestic Animals

Another pair of veterinary alumni received the Iowa State University Alumni Merit Award. Brian Darrow (’83) and Ron Tapper (’84) will be recognized for their work with the Sharon Live On Foundation that was featured recently in the Gentle Doctor magazine. The Alumni Merit Award recognizes ISU alumni for outstanding humanitarian efforts that transcend purely professional accomplishments and bring honor to the university.

Source: Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.