National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Meet America’s Pig Farmer of the Year: Past, present and future

Four finalists are vying to become the next America’s Pig Farmer of the Year. The winner will be announced the week of Oct. 1.

The National Pork Board has announced the four finalists vying to be the 2019 America’s Pig Farmer of the Year. This year’s finalists are Doug Dawson, Delaware, Ohio; Chris Hoffman, McAlisterville, Pa.; Josh Linde, Manilla, Iowa, and Thomas Titus, Elkhart, Ill.

Through Aug. 27, the public can vote once a day per email address for their favorite finalist at The winner will be announced the week of Oct. 1, based on the judges’ scores and the online voting results.

The program honors a U.S. pig farmer each year who excels at raising pigs following the We Care ethical principles and who is committed to sharing their farming story with the American public.

Page through this slideshow to meet this year’s finalists, as well as the previous honorees.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.