National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Steve Henry Named 2014 ISU Science with Practice Award Winner

Steve Henry Named 2014 ISU Science with Practice Award Winner

Steve Henry, DVM, was named as the 2014 Iowa State University (ISU) Science with Practice Award winner at last week’s ISU Swine Disease Conference. Henry is president and partner with the Abilene Animal Hospital PA in Abilene, KS, and is an adjunct professor in the Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology at Kansas State University (KSU).

The award was presented by Alex Ramirez, DVM, associate rofessor in Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine at ISU. “Henry is a highly recognized and respected practitioner who works with clients of all sizes,” Ramirez said. “He is one to always ask questions yet takes the time to try and find the needed answers.  He is always eager to share his knowledge and findings with anyone.  He is the author of many papers and book chapters on swine medicine and is a frequent seminar presenter in North, Central and South America.  He truly is focused on evidence-based clinical practice and enjoys every opportunity he has to help mentor many.  Many students have been through his well respected practice.”

Henry has been recognized as the American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV) Swine Practitioner of the Year, earned the AASV Howard W. Dunne Memorial Award, the  Leman Science in Practice Award, and the Allied Industry Award from the Kansas Pork Association. His alma matter, KSU, recognized Henry with the Joseph A. Bogue Memorial Award, Distinguished Veterinary Alumnus Award, and named him an Alumni Fellow in the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Ramirez noted that Henry has served on the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s  Veterinary Medicine Advisory Committee, the American Veterinary Medical Association’s (AVMA) Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents, as well as being a part of various Pork Producers Council committees and Department of Agriculture committees. He is a member of AASV’ pharmaceutical-issues and foreign-animal-disease committees and has served as chair of the Expert Panel on Canine and Feline Vaccines. He is a member of the National Academies of Practice, a fellow of the Morris Animal Foundation, and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners in Swine Health Management.

Henry has also been a renowned cellist for 35-plus years, performing for the Salina Symphony Orchestra. 

In 2006, Henry was recognized by National Hog Farmer as a Master of the Pork Industry.

The Science with Practice Award was established in 2006 and was derived from language of the ISU seal which emphasizes infusing science into the practice of all university disciplines. The award recognizes exemplary integration of science and the art of veterinary practice to benefit swine productivity and welfare.

Previous Science with Practice award winners include:

2006       Roy Schultz, DVM, MS, Avoca, IA

2007       Bernard J. Curran, DVM (posthumously), Park View, IA

2008       Mark J. Engle, DVM, MS, De Soto, KS

2009       Craig J. Rowles, DVM, Carroll, IA

2010       Daryl Olsen, DVM, Audubon, IA

2011       Howard T. Hill, DVM, Iowa Falls, IA

2012       Hans Rotto, DVM, Ames, IA

2013       Paul Yeske, DVM, St. Peter, MN

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.