Senate Renames Farm Bill Conferees, Waiting on House

Senate Renames Farm Bill Conferees, Waiting on House

The Senate formally asked the House of Representatives to proceed to a farm bill conference and reappointed the same 12 Senate conferees it named in August as they continue to wait on the House to name its conferees. 

The reappointments were required because the House merged the “farm-only” farm bill and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP/food stamp) bill into one bill last week.  The senators named to the conference are Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Pat Leahy (D-VT), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Max Baucus (D-MT), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Pat Roberts (R-KS), John Boozman (R-AR) and John Hoeven (R-ND).  The conference cannot begin until the House Republican leadership names the House conferees.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.