National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

NPPC awards 10 with Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship

djmilic/ThinkstockPhotos Graduation cap on stack of dollar bills.
The scholarship was renamed in 2006 to honor the passing of NPPC board member Lois Britt, a lifetime supporter of agriculture.

The National Pork Producers Council has awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry. The Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship program is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation, and managed and administered by NPPC. The award was announced at NPPC's annual National Pork Industry Forum in Kansas City.

The 2020 winners of the $2,500 scholarships – named after the late NPPC vice president from Mt. Olive, N.C. – are:

  • Dana Edleman, South Dakota State University
  • Grace Greiner, Iowa State University
  • Molly Kroeger, South Dakota State University
  • Nolan Lyness, Iowa State University
  • Ethan Stas, Pennsylvania State University
  • Logan Tesch, South Dakota State University
  • Zannah Tyndall, North Carolina State University
  • Caitlyn Wileman, Iowa State University
  • Drew Wiley, Kansas State University
  • Isaac Wiley, Iowa State University

The scholarship program was introduced in 1990 by CME Group and NPPC to celebrate the 25th anniversary of CME hog futures. The scholarship was renamed in 2006 to honor the passing of NPPC board member Lois Britt, a lifetime supporter of agriculture. Britt spent 34 years with the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service and served Smithfield Hog Production in a public and government relations role during the final 15 years of her career. She was inducted into the NPPC Pork Industry Hall of Fame, the North Carolina Pork Council Hall of Fame and awarded the North Carolina 4-H Lifetime Achievement Award.

To be eligible for a scholarship, students must be undergraduates in a two-year swine program or a four-year college of agriculture.

"These talented young men and women represent the next generation of the U.S. pork industry," says NPPC president David Herring, a hog farmer from Lillington, N.C. "It is our responsibility to educate and encourage future leaders in our industry, and NPPC and CME Group are pleased to award these hardworking students with scholarships."

Source: National Pork Producers Council, which is solely responsible for the information provided, and wholly owns the information. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.