Nominations Accepted for Pork Checkoff Board


The Pork Checkoff's Board of Directors is accepting nominations to fill five, three-year terms. In addition, candidates are being sought for two open seats on the Board's Nominating Committee to serve two-year terms starting in 2013. Nominees may be submitted by state pork producer associations, farm organizations or anyone who pays the Pork Checkoff, which includes pork producers and pork importers.

“Serving on the National Pork Checkoff's Board is a great opportunity for producers to show their support of the industry, while helping to plan for a successful future," says Conley Nelson, president of the National Pork Board. “The board plays a significant role, ensuring the industry voice is heard on a national level.”  

Any person who is a pork producer or importer and has paid all Checkoff assessments due, or is a representative of a producer/company that produces hogs/pigs, is eligible to serve on the National Pork Checkoff Board. The 15 positions on the Checkoff board are held by pork producers or importers who volunteer their time. Seats to be elected in 2013 currently are held by: 

  • Julie Maschhoff, Illinois.      2010 - first term             Eligible for reelection to a three-year term
  • Wathina Luthi, Oklahoma.    2010 - First Term             Eligible for reelection to a three-year term
  • Derrick Sleezer, Iowa.   2010 - First Term             Eligible for reelection to a three-year term
  • Steve Wuergler, Oregon.   2010 - First Term             Eligible for reelection to a three-year term
  • Everett Forkner, Missouri.    2010 - Second Term        Not Eligible for reelection.

The Pork Checkoff Nominating Committee will solicit, interview, evaluate and recommend candidates to the Pork Act Delegate Body at the annual meeting March 7-9, 2013, in Orlando, FL. A slate of eight producers will be elected and submitted to the U.S. secretary of agriculture, who will appoint five producers to serve three-year terms on the National Pork Board.

The application deadline is Dec. 1. Please direct application requests and questions to the National Pork Checkoff Board either by mail to 1776 NW 114th St., Clive, IA 50325, by telephone to Teresa Wadsworth at (515) 223-2612, or email

The National Pork Checkoff Board consists of 15 members, each serving a maximum of two, three-year terms. The Pork Act requires that no fewer than 12 states be represented by the 15 Pork Board members. At the time of election, these states will be represented by the board members whose positions on the board are not due for election: Iowa, Minnesota, Michigan, Kansas, Massachusetts, South Dakota, North Carolina, Georgia and Ohio.In order to meet the 12-state requirement, candidates from at least three “new” states must be ranked in the top five of the eight nominees sent to the secretary of agriculture.

The National Pork Board has responsibility for Checkoff-funded research, promotion and consumer information projects and for communicating with pork producers and the public. Through a legislative national Pork Checkoff, pork producers invest $0.40 for each $100 value of hogs sold. Importers of pork products contribute a like amount, based on a formula. The Pork Checkoff funds national and state programs in advertising, consumer information, retail and foodservice marketing, export market promotion, production improvement, technology, swine health, pork safety and environmental management. For information on Checkoff-funded programs, pork producers can call the Pork Checkoff Service Center at (800) 456-7675 or check the Internet at


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.