National Hog Farmer is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Merck continues commitment to future swine veterinarians

National Pork Board Awards for Advancing Research in Respiratory Disease, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim, has provided $1.2 million since 2002.
Company announces 2021 AASVF Veterinary Scholarship Recipients.

Merck Animal Health, known as MSD Animal Health outside the U.S. and Canada, continued its commitment to the swine industry’s next generation of veterinarians by partnering with the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation (AASVF) to sponsor the 2021 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships.

“At our core, we are committed to investing in veterinary students who are the future leaders in advancing the The Science of Healthier Animals,” said Justin Welsh, D.V.M., executive director of Livestock Technical Services, Merck Animal Health. “Through our partnership with AASVF, we are helping to build students’ knowledge of swine health and well-being as they prepare for a career in this important field.”

Harry Snelson, D.V.M., executive director of AASV, commented: “The Merck Veterinary Student Scholarship Program has been instrumental in expanding the AASV Foundation’s mission to develop veterinary students into swine veterinarians. The scholarships have a direct and immediate impact on the awardees by helping veterinary students address the financial challenges related to the tuition and fees involved in veterinary education. It is especially rewarding for the members of the AASV Foundation to see that Merck Animal Health shares their values of support for future swine veterinarians.”

The 2021 recipients of the $5,000 scholarship were announced on March 1, 2021, and include:

  • Hayley Bowling, University of Saskatchewan, Class of 2023
  • Tyler Dick, University of Minnesota, Class of 2022
  • Katyann Graham, Iowa State University, Class of 2023
  • Isaac Goldner, University of Illinois, Class of 2023
  • Anthony Holowka, Lincoln Memorial University, Class of 2022
  • Madison Kapraun, University of Illinois, Class of 2022
  • Kristofer Kovach, Iowa State University, Class of 2023
  • Seth Melson, University of Minnesota, Class of 2023
  • Rachel Patton, The Ohio State University, Class of 2022
  • Sydney Simmons, North Carolina State University, Class of 2023

The recipients were announced at the 52nd Annual AASV Meeting held virtually due to COVID-19. Second-and third-year students enrolled in American Veterinary Medical Association-accredited or recognized colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean Islands are eligible for the scholarship.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.